top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Comtois

Why Living in Maine Makes You Spoiled


Earth Day was always a celebration that I knew existed, but never had an appreciation for. However this year is different, and I think I know why.


I grew up in Lowell, MA and I lived there for 18 years. If you have never heard of it, our claim to fame is being the first American city to take part in the Industrial Revolution of the 1800's. Technology put Lowell on the map. Thus I have always been surrounded by a cityscape rich in history and culture.


My backyard had it's fair share of trees that served as a jungle gym for a young Sarah, but it was nothing compared to the outdoors my friends in Maine grew up in. Trust me, I would never change my upbringing for anything in the world. But living in Maine this past year has truly made me realize how amazing our planet is!


I have always been a city girl through and through. My experience with the outdoors was through the week I had at Girl Scout Camp every summer. I enjoyed the outdoor activities offered there such as canoeing, archery, and campfires but I only experienced them once a year.


I didn't go camping in a tent until I was 19 years old, and my first hike was that same weekend. I felt proud and accomplished for "roughing it," but knew it was a life that wasn't for me.


Here is a picture of me completing my first ever hike!

 

Even when I was studying at Saint Joseph's College, I never fully took advantage of the outdoor activities that were offered. Our campus had it's own private beach on Sebago Lake, but I only swam in it twice. We had sunset kayak tours, ski shuttles, and an Outdoors Activity Club that hosted some sweet events, like skydiving! But I never participated. For some reason I thought I was better than that. Why would I choose to go sweat outside, when I could have just as much fun indoors. I was always the person who chose to run on the treadmill instead of run on the trails.


But after graduation, I moved to Maine and I finally figured out exactly what I was missing.


I live in Portland, Maine's biggest city, but I can be at the the ocean, lake, mountain, or trail in 20 minutes time. Oddly enough it wasn't until I was working 40 hours a week, that I realized I had the time to explore. No longer was my down time full of homework, clubs, or internships. Instead it was my time to fill. So I began adventuring.


My friend Autumn was shocked when I suggested we should go on a hike to check out the fall foliage. I'm sure Mira wasn't expecting me to say yes to going on a trail walk when I asked how she wanted to hang out. And I have even spent more of my alone time finding activities to do outside. Even if it's exploring your surroundings in a different way, like trying new restaurants, I guarantee there's something new to do in your town too.

And each time I try something new outside, I realize how amazing our planet truly is. I have begun to notice my surroundings more and appreciate the aspects that makes each moment truly unique. There is so much to explore on our vast Earth, and I found myself 22 years too late in discovering its beauty.


 

I think this a common theme in our world as well. For the last century we have been harming our Earth way more than ever before. Pretty soon our oceans will be filled with litter, our forests will be chopped down, and our air will be too thick to breathe. So do your part in making our planet livable for future generations. Your actions, no matter how small, do make a difference.


So this Earth Day, take a break from your busy life, stop to smell the roses, appreciate your life on this planet, and think of one way you can help preserve it. And here in Maine, we sure are spoiled with some pretty sights.


My first ski trip, senior year of college. Thanks to Autumn and Mira for teaching me the ropes on the bunny hill!

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page